Board of Directors
Honorary Commander-In-Chief
Honorable Greg Abbott
Governor of Texas

Governor's Appointee to the Board
Jerry Patterson

The membership selects three members at large every year at the annual meeting, who will each serve a three year term on the Board. At that time, the Board selects its officers for a calendar year term. To contact these officers, log in to the web site using your member log in, and look at the directory under MEMBERS ONLY.

2022 Officers

President: David Wetzel

Vice President: Rick Dempsey

Treasurer: James Bernsen 

Secretary: Andy Hall 

Immediate Past President: Jim Tyson

2022 Elected Directors and their current term (* indicates 2nd term)

Derek Beck - 1/1/2021 to 12/31/2023
James Bernsen - 1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
Rick Dempsey - Vacancy Appt to 12/31/2022

Bob Fry - 1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024

Andy Hall - 1/1/2020 to 12/31/2022 *
Richard Hatch - Vacancy Appt to 12/31/2022
Mariann Laughlin - 1/1/2021 to 12/31/2023
Charlie Patterson - 1/1/2022 - 12/31/2024
David Wetzel - 1/1/2020 to 12/31/2022

Additionally, each Squadron gets to pick a representative, who is a voting board member. This person is not subject to the same terms as elected board members. Past Presidents and Squadron Commanders also have a seat and voice at all board meetings ex-officio Board Members but do not vote. Following are the squadrons, their commanders, and their voting representative:

C. E. Hawkins Squadron
Squadron Commander - Jeff Kilgore
Squadron Representative -

Chester W. Nimitz Squadron
Squadron Commander - James Ellison
Squadron Representative - Nick Gilliam

Edwin Moore Squadron
Squadron Commander - Mitch Fuller
Squadron Representative - Kathy Howell

Mirabeau B. Lamar
Squadron Commander - Robert Williams
Squadron Representative - Dave Haglund

Sam Houston Squadron
Squadron Commander - Pam Arnold
Squadron Representative - Mike DeHart

Samuel May Williams Squadron
Squadron Commander - Jimmy Peet
Squadron Representative - Richard Weitzel

Tom Toby Squadron
Squadron Commander - John Martin
Squadron Representative - Terry Miller

Zavala Squadron
Squadron Commander - Travis Patterson
Squadron Representative - Bill Turner

2020 © Texas Navy Association
6341 Stewart Road #102
Galveston, Texas 77551

Contact Us: 

Upcoming Events

  • No upcoming events
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software